IPL 2023 highlights final: A Complete Guide

IPL 2023 highlights final: A Complete Guide

The 2023 Indian Premier League final took place on May 29, 2023, at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium. It was a Day/Night T20 match to determine the winner of the Indian Premier League (IPL), an annual Twenty20 event in India.

The match was delayed due to the weather

The match was initially planned for May 28 but was moved to May 29 due to rain, making it the first time the IPL final had been moved due to weather. Chennai Super Kings won the toss and chose to play, with Gujarat Titans making 214 runs for 4 wickets, breaking the record for the highest team total in an IPL final.

The Super Kings’ innings were delayed by over an hour due to bad weather, and the goal was increased under the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) method to 171 runs in 15 overs; the club would eventually win by five wickets, claiming their sixth IPL title. Devon Conway of CSK was selected as the player of the match.

Know about IPL 2023 award winners

The complete list of prizes for the IPL this season is as follows:

  • Shubman Gill (GT) won the IPL Orange Cap in 2023 with 290 wickets.
  • Mohammed Shami (GT) won the IPL Purple Cap in 2023 with 28 wickets.
  • Delhi Capitals received the season’s Fairplay award.
  • The Season’s best catch was made by Rashid Khan (GT) versus LSG.
  • Faf du Plessis (RCB) scored the year’s longest six with a 115-meter run.
  • Shubman Gill (GT) won the title of most fours this season with 84 fours.
  • Shubman Gill, a member of the Gujarat Titans, was named the season’s most valuable player.
  • Shubman Gill of the Gujarat Titans won the season’s Game Changer award.
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal (Rajasthan Royals) won the IPL 2023 Emerging Player Award

Gujarat Titans innings

Gujarat Titans innings information from India

The Titans, who were called to bat, got off to a strong start after reaching 50 runs in 5.2 overs because of the efforts of the openers Wriddhiman Saha and Shubman Gill. The team went on to score 62 runs for no wickets lost at the end of the first power play at 6 overs.

In addition, Gill was the first victim, taken out by MS Dhoni’s stumping off the bowling of Ravindra Jadeja. He used 20 balls to score 39 runs. Before Saha was out caught by Dhoni off the bowling of Deepak Chahar, he was joined by Indian batsman Sai Sudharsan, and the two added 64 runs to their total.

At the end of 14 overs, the total was 131 runs with the loss of 2 wickets. Before being sent out leg before wicket by Pathirana for 96 runs, his best score, in the twentieth over, Sudharsan was joined by skipper Hardik Pandya. The two put up a quickfire 81 runs off 5 overs.

With 4 wickets lost in their 20 overs, the Titans finished their innings with 214 runs. Matheesha Pathirana, a fast bowler for the Super Kings in Sri Lanka, grabbed 2 wickets while giving up 11 runs.

Chennai Super Kings innings

Chennai Super Kings innings discussion in India

Rain delayed the Super Kings’ innings, reducing the game to 15 overs and a revised goal of 171 runs to win the finals and the championship.

Indian batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad and New Zealand batsman Devon Conway opened the batting for the Super Kings, hitting 52 runs off four overs on the opening power play. Gaikwad was the first to be dismissed, caught at backward point by Afghan allrounder Rashid Khan off the bowling of fellow Afghan spinner Noor Ahmad for 26 runs.

Conway was out in the same over, caught by Mohit Sharma off Ahmad. Impact replacement Shivam Dube was joined by Indian hitter Ajinkya Rahane, and the duo raised the score to 117 runs off 10.5 overs before Rahane was caught by Vijay Shankar off Sharma’s bowling.

When Ambati Rayudu was caught and bowled off Sharma, captain MS Dhoni walked into bat with the team behind by four wickets. Dhoni was out for a duck on the opening ball, caught by David Miller at extra cover off Sharma’s bowling.

The Super Kings needed to score 10 runs to win, so the game came down to the final two deliveries. When facing Mohit Sharma, Indian batsman Ravindra Jadeja was on strike.

In order to end the innings, Jadeja hit a boundary behind the leg stump after lifting the penultimate delivery for a six-over long off. Off the final ball of the 15-over, rain-shortened innings, the Super Kings won both the match and the championship. The Super Kings have won the IPL five times before.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *